Launch Dutch Commons Assembly

On Thursday the 13th of July, commoners from all over The Netherlands get together in TivoliVredenburg in Utrecht for the launch of the Dutch Commons Assembly. The assembly, aptly named ‘De Meent’ (a reference to the old Dutch word for commons), is a platform for commons pioneers, thinkers and policy makers.

De Meent wants to advocate the commons based principles in society at large. The platform intends to also be a supporter for commoners, by lobbying, campaigning and offering expertise.

De Meent above all is meeting point for commoners. A place where people can exchange ideas and experiences, to celebrate the commons!

The event in Utrecht is co-inciding with the International Conference for the Commons, the IASC2017, where commons thinkers from all over the world will come together for a whole week. The Dutch Commons Assembly in TivoliVredenburg will be a good chance for Dutch pioneers and activists and international experts to meet up and connect.

De Meent co-founders are Sophie Bloemen, Christiaan Fruneaux, Thomas de Groot, Socrates Schouten, Joachim Meerkerk, Melissa Koutouzis, Bart Cosijn and Jelle de Graaf. We warmly welcome you to join us for this very special night.

De Meent was founded as a spin-off from the European Commons Assembly, which first convened in the European Parliament in Brussels in November of 2016.


* To promote commons based thinking in The Netherlands;

* To advocate for commons based policies and commons based economic practices;

* To tell the stories of Dutch commoners, and to put them on the map;

* To facilitate encounters and exchange between Dutch commoners;

* To further develop the commons narrative and discourse, to make technological, legal and organisational knowledge more accessible;

* To actively support commons in their endeavours to start co-ops and other commons initiatives by offering legal, political, financial, technological and organisational expertise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *